Nationally Recognized Heart Hospital
Dallas | Fort Worth

Find a Physician

Advanced Search

Core Measures

Heart Hospital Care

Baylor Health Care System knows that you have choices when deciding which hospital is best for you. We want you to be comfortable in making those choices, which is why we are committed to providing you with information about the treatment we provide that will help you make an informed decision.

What are Core Measures?

Baylor consistently delivers quality healthcare using proven therapies to treat our patients. In doing so, we adhere to a set of care processes called Core Measures, which were developed by The Joint Commission, the nation's predominant standards-setting and accrediting body in healthcare, to improve the quality of healthcare by implementing a national, standardized performance measurement system. The Core Measures were derived largely from a set of quality indicators defined by the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS). They have been shown to reduce the risk of complications, prevent recurrences and otherwise treat the majority of patients who come to a hospital for treatment of a condition or illness. Core Measures help hospitals improve the quality of patient care by focusing on the actual results of care.

Top of Page

Comparing Performance

Hospitals across the country, including Baylor hospitals, are measured and compared by The Joint Commission against all other accredited institutions on their performance in these Core Measures. You will note there is a time lag of several months between when data is reported from hospitals and when it is posted for the public to review. This is because Baylor, like other hospitals, has to wait for state and national statistics to be compiled before it can post its quality data for a given period. Baylor posts its updated information whenever the updated state and national data are posted. This way, consumers can compare Baylor, Texas, and national data from the same time period.

Top of Page

What does each of the Core Measures stand for?

For fiscal year 2009, there are 30 Core Measures all together, in 4 categories (acute myocardial infarction, community-acquired pneumonia, congestive heart failure, and surgical care improvement project). Under each category, key actions are listed that represent the most widely accepted, research-based care process for appropriate care in that category.

It is important to note that these care recommendations are subject to the professional medical advice of each patient's physician and the particular health conditions of each patient. If a physician determines that a patient is not an appropriate candidate for a particular care process, the patient will not be included in the data. A good example is aspirin. Some patients are allergic to aspirin; for others, taking aspirin will make another medical problem worse. In these cases, the patient's physician may determine that aspirin should not be administered or prescribed for the patient. Therefore, the patients will not be included in the data.

More information about Core Measures and by location? Click here

Top of Page

Developed and Hosted by NorthPoint Domain
┬ęCopyright 2017. NorthPoint Domain Inc. All Rights Reserved


Your Session will expire in 5 minutes

Please click the "Continue Session" button below to continue using the website. To end your session please click the "End Session" button below. After 5 minutes of inactivity your session will be terminated and you will be required to log in again.